24 hour days are just not working for me.

I’ve been having a lot of trouble sleeping lately. It takes me forever just to drag myself to bed, and then once I’m there I toss and turn for hours.

And then I do stupid stuff like start a movie or a long book at two in the morning…but I am bored out of my mind.

Anyway, night before last, I went to bed around 6:30 am (probably fell asleep around 7). Last night, I surely wasn’t asleep until nearly 8. This is ridiculous!

I mean, half the reason I can’t sleep is because it is light outside. Usually I hate letting the dog out before I go to bed, since I’m scared of the dark and our yard is creepy at night, but last night, by the time I took her out the sun had been up for at least an hour, so it was no problem!

Except for the part that was a problem.

Actually, there’s a part of me that wonders if it matters at all– why not just be awake when I want to be awake, and sleep when I’m tired? Especially since I’m the only one in the house, it doesn’t really matter. Nothing I do has to fall within any kind of schedule– I can read a book at 6 am as easily as I can at 6 pm.

I try to resist this train of thought, but I’m not sure why. It’s always been difficult to try to force myself into the “proper” 24-hour day. I mostly managed through high school, because I always had to be awake between 8 am and 4 pm for classes, but in college everything started falling apart. Which is actually why I’m home on leave now, dealing with sleep rhythm problems times ten because I don’t even have the classes any more.

I’m strongly tempted to try the 28-hour day or something similar.

28 hour day

28 hour day

It looks like it is what my body keeps trying to do already, and if I picked my classes carefully in the Spring when I’m (finally!) allowed to return, I bet I could get it to work out. Just put the different times into my phone-as-alarm-clock, get myself one of those little sleep-masks to block out the light, and it just might work. I spend all my time indoors anyway, really, and it sounds like electric lights can reset circadian rhythms well enough to keep you from going crazy. There are a lot of testimonials online, and they all seem to have been pleased…with the 28-hour day anyway. Apparently there’s a 48-hour day as well, which is guaranteed to make you go crazy, and some kind of “Uberman” schedule with nothing but naps.

But I never feel like I’ve been awake long enough to be ready to go to bed, and as long as I have a schedule I ought to be fine. Better a schedule I can keep than one I’m constantly fighting.

Of course, my parents would probably never let me hear the end of it…they’ve always been the ones pushing so hard to get me to sleep at the “right” times. But I might mention it to them anyway…just in case.

2 Responses to 24 hour days are just not working for me.

  1. jorel314 says:

    I hope you try out polyphasic sleeping…

  2. eloriane says:

    Thanks, though it’s looking unlikely. My whole family’s home again and we’re doing renovations so it’s pretty darn noisy when they’re awake. I’m basically switched back to the 24-hour cycle now. Though I;ll strongly consider it when I get my own place after I graduate, depending on what kind of work I end up doing.

Leave a Reply

