Hey, there’s a header now!

I wanted to change the layout so the “X Comments” link was at the bottom (in the hopes it would encourage more commenting 🙂 ) and while I was at it I picked out a “custom header” from the photos on my computer.

I like the one I chose because of the way it shows many of the problems with women’s representation in popular media– there’s a woman, and she’s even “central” but ultimately the focus isn’t on her (she doesn’t even have a head!) The people who are active are the two men, upon whom she must lean, who look right at the camera from positions of strength. Even the camel gets to have its face shown (though it’s blurry)– only the woman is looked at exclusively for her body.

I’m happy with the choice but really want to show off the two others I was considering because I like them a lot, too.

I liked the fact that even though she's "strong" she doesn't get the same respect as the other statues-- she's hidden away in a little nook, and I actually nearly missed her as I walked through the museum.

I liked the fact that even though she's "strong" she doesn't get the same respect as the other statues-- she's hidden away in a little nook, and I actually nearly missed her as I went through the museum; the focus was all on the male gods. Plus, it has some red in it, to coordinate with the text!

This had some pretty obvious imagery that seemed appropriate, and I liked the way it made a "roof" for the blog.

This had some pretty obvious imagery that seemed appropriate, and I liked the way it made a "roof" for the blog.

I’ll probably fuss with it as my mood changes but for now I’m pleased.

Leave a Reply

