I’m Too Lazy for my Blog, Too Lazy for my Blog

So it’s time for a blogaround!

Voting myths and Registration Deadline over at Jump Off the Bridge. The short version: it’s illegal to campaign too close to a polling station (distance varies by state) and wearing campaign paraphernalia can qualify, but even if you wear an Obama T-shirt to the polls they may NOT deny you your right to vote! Just cover up or remove the campaign gear, and they MUST allow you to vote.

Plans B Damned: The Quest for Emergency Contraception at RH Reality Check. Kind of an upsetting story, but also just about exactly what I expected. It makes me want to do my own experiment, to see how hard it is to get Plan B here in Arkansas, except, of course, that birth control is a shameful, shameful thing to talk about, and I’m not that brave. Who needs to overturn Roe v. Wade? Just keep chipping away at this stuff.

But cheer up, everyone, and check out Sarah Haskins again! Actually, you should bookmark her right now, so you never have to miss another of her videos again. She is my favourite comedian ever. If only the rest of Current was half as funny.

Hey, more funny stuff: At Least We’re Good For a Laugh! at BGKev.com. Oh, oops. This is actually not funny at all. Turns out one of the few things Palin and Biden agreed on last night was the fact that it would be illegan to deny certain rights to those icky gays, but by God, we don’t have to let them use the word marriage! It’s times like these that I feel most defeatist about American politics, but at least BGK sees some hope. If we can get civil unions to exist, then we can challenge them in the Supreme Court, and it’ll probably be good news. But still…if you’re agreeing with the Republicans, you’re not being a very good ally. This is one of the major ways that the Obama campaign continues to disappoint me.

Sarah Palin Debate Flow Chart: basically the only thing I’m going to say about last night’s debate. Besides the thing I just said about gay rights.

A Conversation with the Nuptial-Industrial Complex over at 2 Elle also makes me laugh and makes me wonder what I’ll do when it comes time for my afore-mentioned evil Canadian gay wedding. I’m thinking a Marilyn Monroe-type white dress– it would flatter my figure in all the right ways, and I want my wedding to be more like a party and less like a Formal Ceremony if at all possible. I want to actually be married at the end of it (boo USA!) but other than that I’m not that interested in a traditional wedding.

The Myth of Objectivity over at Echidne of the Snakes got me thinking about my experiences in journalism, and how “objective” is usually anything but. Supporting the status quo is still taking a position; it is promoting a viewpoint; it is not “neutral.”

For some good ol’ FA stuff, I’ve been reading old Shapely Prose posts. Hooray for the Duh Truck! Twice! My favourite bit is a brief anecdote from the second one:

“I just recently met a woman who has fraternal twin boys, one of whom is bigger than the other — and she told me the pediatrician is on her ass about that kid’s weight. Because of course the only logical explanation for that would be that she’s overfeeding one kid but giving the other a normal amount of food. As, you know, mothers of twins are totally wont to do. ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?”

I mean, has this doctor never seen children in their natural habitats before? When I was a kid, it was totally unacceptable for my brothers to have a different number of sprinkles than I got, let alone such a fundamentally different diet that they were noticeably heavier. Isn’t that typical behavior for kids, especially for twins? “If they get X, I want to have X too!” It’s just bizarre to assume that the difference is in the input, rather than the body’s response.

Also: Feeling fat may be worse for you than being fat. And it’s in a reputable news source and everything! If only I were brave enough to mail these links to my mum…luckily, though, she can’t make me feel fat. She can make me feel terribly unfit, but that’s because I haven’t exercised regularly since 6th grade and am not strong enough to climb two flights of stairs in a row. (I’m working on it!) So, unhealthy, sure, but unacceptably fat? No way. I am drop-dead sexy, guys. Voluptuous and gorgeous.

Ten posts is enough for a blogaround, right? You’ve all got enough stuff to read now that I can leave, right? You won’t come after me for failing my blogular duties?

Great! Then I’m going to go watch some more Planet Earth. Man, I love the BBC.

2 Responses to I’m Too Lazy for my Blog, Too Lazy for my Blog

  1. dollyann says:

    Great blogaround, eloriane! 🙂

    Seriously, though, I feel exactly the same way as you about Biden’s gay marriage response. When Gwen turned to him and he responded, “Well, I agree,” something ripped inside of me. Like, whoa, is this how Obama feels? And even in interview with LGBT supporters, Obama stumbles, flip-flopping it seems between those conservative Independents and his far left (is that really what supporting gay marriage makes you) challengers. It’s definitely a weakness of Obama’s platform.

    And Sarah Haskins FTW. I wish she would update videos more often. She’s my much needed comedic reality check.

  2. eloriane says:

    I know! She asks him, do you support gay marriage? and he just goes, “NO.” Then he waffles a bit to try to not come off as a total republican, but basically, the answer’s no.

    I actually had the privilege of hearing Obama speak at the very beginning of the primary season, and he was an incredible motivational speaker, and he talked about everything that mattered most to me, and I was ready to vote for him and campaign and everything– until I was ticking off everything he talked about to a friend, and I got to gay rights.

    He mentioned LGBT rights in one sentence. He was talking about how the Republicans are the party of fear, and he was listing things that they tried to scare people with, and he said, “and they want to make you afraid of gay people.” And that was it, that was all the mention we got! And that’s basically been his position since…”Maybe if I don’t talk about the Gays they’ll go away! Or at least I won’t have to pretend they’re not icky when I’m around those precious swing voters!” The attitude is very much, “Who else are you going to vote for? McCain?” Which is, to say the least, disheartening.

    In other news: Sarah Haskins! I want to gay marry her!

Leave a Reply

