One Hundred!

So, this is my hundredth post, and I’m going to go ahead and use it to reflect on this whole blogging thing. I talked a lot in the comment thread here about what a rewarding experience blogging has been, but it deserves to be said again.

It’s stunningly hard to just sit down and start writing, to fling my ideas and my words out into the universe. Up until a few months ago, nobody got to see what I wrote, ever. Even if I was pleased with it, I’d be worried it wasn’t perfect enough, and so I’d refuse to let it see daylight. Forcing myself to write anyway, and to hit publish anyway, every single day, has…not made it any easier at all, actually. It still takes effort for me to open up wordpress and start writing that first sentence.

But once I’ve started, it’s gotten so much easier. Maybe I shouldn’t be admitting it, but I hardly have to revise any more. When I first started, I wouldn’t realize what I was trying to say until I got to the end of my post, and I’d write the thesis statement as the conclusion, and then I’d have to start all over again. It usually took me another draft to get it all organized properly as well. But now, it all comes out the way I want it to the first time. Oh, I’ll fiddle with sentences as I’m writing them, but nothing on the scale of moving paragraphs around or starting over completely– I’ve gotten better at thinking things out beforehand.

I think I underestimate the amount of time I spend blogging, actually, because so much of my daily life is taken up by thinking about blogging. I’ll write and rewrite whole paragraphs (or even posts) in my head long before I ever sit down to write them. Plus actually watching and reading everything takes a lot of time– especially since half the stuff I come across doesn’t really inspire me to write about it!

But then again, I was going through all these thought processes anyway. I’ve talked before about how engaging with a new piece of media always causes me to critically evaluate what I’m seeing; the only different is that now I write down what I think. (My friends and family are probably grateful– I used to drive everyone crazy, deconstructing movies in the car on the way home).

I’m a person who isn’t comfortable not saying what I’m thinking, so even if it’s still a little nerve-wracking hitting “publish” every day, it’s so rewarding to have my thoughts out there. To all the people who read: thank you so much for letting me get this all off my chest. And especially for those who comment, thanks for much for letting me talk even more! I’ve actually learned a lot from the comment threads here and I’m hoping some of you are learning too (or at least being entertained).

Unfortunately, since I’m writing this in the afternoon, well-rested and well-fed, that’s as sappy as I’m getting. No curse words this time around– sorry, everyone! Maybe when I hit 200 I’ll write my self-congratulatory post at 2:00 (a.m.) and it’ll be more sentimental.

And now, for the STATS!

7 Responses to One Hundred!

  1. dollyann says:

    100 posts! Huzzah!

    Super congrats, eloriane. Those are awesome stats.

    And I totally feel the same way about blogging. I can’t not say what I’m thinking, and blogging just forces me to think about issues even more. Huzzahs for blogging in general. πŸ™‚

  2. eloriane says:

    300 comments! Huzzah! Congrats, Dolly! πŸ˜€

    And, yeah, I’m overjoyed about the stats– except the most popular pages and the search terms. It’s more stark when you see the full list, but a lot of the search terms are from people who are obviously going to be disappointed– “xena has sex,” for example. And the most popular posts seem to be the ones that get people angry; the top one I tagged with “dieting,” which is apparently a popular topic, and the Sex Drive one drew a lot of trolls. But the “Confessions and Lamentations” one was just straight-up critical analysis, and actually one of my favourite posts, so that’s good! And the second search term is actually the name of the blog, indicating that people search for me, and there’s nothing cooler than that. (Okay, 24 people total, but still. Cool!)

    You should blog more, by the way. πŸ™‚ Because I want to read more of what you have to say. You tackle politics directly, which is more than I have the strength to do; I just trust that Shakesville will keep me informed, and I stick to my escapism. (Even when I’m ripping things apart for egregious misogyny, they’re a bit escapist. And when they get things mostly right, they’re a lot escapist.)

    Of course, since I’m heading off on another trip in two weeks, blogging’s feeling harder than usual, since I have to get back in the groove after my last break and write twice as much as usual to have a buffer. So far…yeah, no buffer. Oh well. I’ll do my best. Maybe I should try to find a guest blogger?

    …hey, Dolly, how do you feel about guest-blogging while I’m away? πŸ˜€ Just write a critique for me, you know what I blog about, and I’ll schedule it to show up while I’m away!

  3. dollyann says:

    Search terms seem to be a frequent woe of a lot of progressive bloggers. I know I’ve done posts on feminism and people got there through tags like, “nude women,” “hawt sex,” “woman orgasm,” etc. I like to imagine the disappointed looks on their faces when they reach my page… it gives me that steamy cup of warm cocoa on a cold, wintry day fuzy feeling.

    Lol, I credit any political insight I have to the combined knowledge of Rachel Maddow and Keith Olbermann. Every evening when I tutor, they’re talking in the background, so I think they’ve basicaly programmed me to think like them. Though, thinking like Rachel Maddow is 100% okay with me. You’ll probably see an increase in the political blogging as the election draws near to a close.

    And INDIA! Wow! So cool! I hope you have fun! πŸ˜€ Of course, I don’t mind writing a post for you while you’re gone… erm, I’ll have to think of something to write about though… *scratches head* No worries. I’ll think of something. When’s the deadline? πŸ˜›

  4. eloriane says:

    See, I don’t watch television. Well, a few reality shows, but even then, it’s Tivo. Everything else is DVDs on my computer. So I’ve never watched the news. (I try every now and then but it’s so…obnoxious.) I respect Maddow and Olbermann in a vague way but haven’t seen them in action. And although I read a lot of blogs about the news, I don’t usually feel like I have a lot to add to the discussion.

    I leave for India October 30th, by the way, so, uh, I’d need it by then so I can schedule it to run! And of course you know what this blog’s about, write about anything that you think is interesting and would fit even tangentially.

    I really, really appreciate this by the way. Somehow, it’s easy to make myself write when I have to publish it now but when I’m writing for the future, it’s like the urgency is lost and I can’t quite finish things. If I have other people writing for me, that makes it unacceptable for me to shirk my own writing duties! So it’ll be good motivation, plus I get traffic from your brilliance πŸ™‚

    Anyway, thanks! My email address is eloriane (at) gmail (dot) com, and I hope to be hearing from you soon!

  5. eloriane says:

    (Also, it’s 1am here and my typing is keeping my brother awake in the next room, so I’m off to bed. Thanks again! I’ll see you later! Good night!)

  6. Crowfoot says:

    Congrats!

    I’m reminded of my one of my favourite writing quotes, from Thomas Mann:

    β€œA writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people”

    kind of sums up my feelings towards writing heh

  7. […] Yeah, you better watch your ass eloriane. I’m right behind […]

Leave a Reply

