Voting is complicated

So, I lied earlier; I didn’t get to vote today. Turns out the polling place listed on the website and on my voter registration card doesn’t actually do early voting; I have to go to a different city hall for that. I’ll still manage to vote before I leave for India, but man, am I ever glad I didn’t wait til the last minute to try to figure this stuff out!

I think just about everyplace is doing early voting now, so for the Americans in my audience: I strongly recommend you all get it dealt with as soon as possible. If there are complications, better to find out when there’s still plenty of time to spare! Also, be absolutely sure your ballot says what you want it to say (i.e., Obama! Or McKinney, which is what mine would probably say if I wasn’t in a swing state.) Especially if you’re using electronic voting (especially in W. Virginia), it pays to double-check; there have been some reports of voting machines switching votes to Republican, which is, um, bad.

And for the Canadians in my audience: thanks a lot for voting the Conservatives back in! šŸ˜¦ Vote better next time, guys.

4 Responses to Voting is complicated

  1. dollyann says:

    That it is, that it is. I hope everything works out for you before you go to India.

    PS I’m still working on your guest post.

  2. Crowfoot says:

    there is not a smiley for my face šŸ˜¦

    the Canadian electoral turn-out was, apparently, the lowest ever. About 59%. Bah!

    I could say “you’re welcome.” Or, I could say “you started it!!!” *bitter lol*

    In light of the sketchiness of the last two elections, your advice to check it all out with plenty of time to spare is very very good advice indeed.

  3. Crowfoot says:

    I ditto dollyann’s PS šŸ™‚

  4. Alexbutt says:

    I’m not a citizen and I’m still bitter.

Leave a Reply

