Itty Bitty Titty Committee, and sexy, sexy lesbians.

I often complain that it’s impossible to find lesbian characters outside of Lesbian Romances (and even those are hard to find among all the Gay Romances). I was initially really excited about Itty Bitty Titty Committee because I thought it would be different, but in the end, it just felt like another Lesbian Romance.

There’s nothing wrong with lesbian romance movies, really, except that they always seem to be even more disappointing than straight romances when they don’t really reflect what I’m really looking for in a relationship. Which is, first, mutual respect, and second, a really cute butch girl.

It’s not that I secretly want to date a man or whatever rubbish my parents think. It’s just that I find butchy girls irresistible– my ex can still turn me on from across the room, even though we parted on very bad terms. But it’s also that I want to date someone who is like me, but more so. I probably come across as pretty femme because I usually wear adorable dresses, but I don’t shave, I don’t wear make-up, and I don’t wear high heels. I only wear hose if it’s got a great pattern on it. I’m a bit chubby, and I completely don’t care. In other words, I like nice clothes, but I don’t buy into the beauty cult at all. And I want to date someone who encourages these traits in me– someone who’s less invested in traditional beauty, and more invested in all the things I do care about (feminism, movies, books, language, travel, and so on). So I suppose I’m really only looking for one thing: mutual respect. It’s just that I have a hard time thinking I can find that with a woman who shaves even in the winter.

And so, I get frustrated when all the lesbian romances present me with women who are like me, but less so! Better Than Chocolate at least comes close, but I had to give up entirely on the L Word, and the covers of all the lesbian movies in my Netflix queue promise nothing but femmes, femmes, and more femmes, with maybe a kinda-butch girl in the background somewhere.

And Itty Bitty Titty Committee falls (mostly) into the same category. Front and center we have two young femmes, as always. They’re both lovely, but in a straight girl kind of way, and I don’t have a lot of patience for their relationship drama. Sadie leads Anna on even though Sadie has no intention of breaking up with Courtney, people try to warn Anna away from Sadie, but Anna brushes them off; lather, rinse, repeat. It’s all very exciting but I wasn’t too pleased when they finally got together in the end…remember what I said at the beginning, about mutual respect? Lust’s a lot of fun, but you need that respect to have a relationship, and I just couldn’t see it between Anna and Sadie.

HOWEVER! There is one thing in this movie that makes it all worthwhile: Calvin.

Dear god she’s hot. Here, have a better look:

She’s played by Daniela Sea, and she almost makes me want to tune in to the L Word again (apparently, she shows up in seasons 3 and 4). She’s also a really interesting character. I loved her romance with Shulie, my second-favourite character, because it was so refreshingly honest. I guess “I like you,” “I like you too,” “hurray!” makes for a short movie, but I still wish more romances would focus on external struggles rather than characters who aren’t honest about their feelings.

Well, actually, I wish I could find lesbian relationships outside of romance movies, since I think it’s just not a genre I enjoy (people are so stupid!), but even within romances it’s hard to find what I’m looking for. Which is, apparently, Calvin.

So, internets, where can I find more movies with characters like this?

Mmm.

4 Responses to Itty Bitty Titty Committee, and sexy, sexy lesbians.

  1. Shev says:

    By Hook or By Crook!!! Seriously awesome butch bromance in my opinion, although maybe technically unpolished. I especially love the ending. And I have the biggest crush on Silas Howard (my own butch has a boi crush as well). Really, go see.

    Unless you already have, in which case, my apologies, and have you reviewed it? I’d love to read the review.

  2. eloriane says:

    I haven’t! Oh man, I’m so excited!! It’s in my Netflix queue right now, at position #1, and I’m mailing back a disc today!

    Of course, I’m also leaving on a road trip in two days, so it’ll be a zillion years before I can actually SEE it, but I’ll review it eventually, no worries! And thanks so much for the recommendation!

  3. Becca says:

    Try “Mango Kiss”!

    i promise it will be like nothing you’ve ever seen.

  4. eloriane says:

    The actress’ name is Daniela Sea. In Itty Bitty Titty Committee, she plays a lesbian named Calvin. She’s also in the L Word, where she plays the trans man Max Sweeney. I have no idea who her boyfriend is in the L Word, since I stopped watching pretty early on.

Leave a Reply

