Randomness, Voting and Being Distracted

Now now, don’t run off! I know I said the “v” word, but I assure you this won’t be a long post about voting, the electoral process or the boos or yays of this politico or that! I can imagine after that loooong electoral process that y’all have down there in the U.S. you’re all rather sick of hearing about voting. I can relate; one just gets tired of the back-and-forthing, analyses, bickering, doomsdaying etc. Up here in Canada, we too just had a Federal election, which was mercifully brief. And in my province we also are having municipal elections (today, as a matter of fact), as well as a provincial election in the spring. *sigh*

Don’t get me wrong – I’m always happy to exercise my franchise. Doing all three, though, can be tiresome. In any event, as I’ve been procrastinating in researching my local candidates for the municipal election I was left with the task of trying to sort it all out today before the polls closed. This isn’t just for Mayor of my town (3 candidates), but also for town council (23 candidates for 6 spots) and school trustees (16 candidates for 5 spots). *phew!* As you can imagine, I’ve spent most of the day tracking down information about these 42 people. I want to vote, so I need to know something about who they are and what they stand for.

I was also trying to get started on a post for tomorrow, as well as trying to think of something off-the-cuff to write about today. This led to much distraction with youtube. To wit:

This BlackAdder segment is for all us theatrical types πŸ™‚

6 Responses to Randomness, Voting and Being Distracted

  1. dollyann says:

    O. M. GGGGGG! BLACKADDER! I didn’t think I would EVER find anyone else familiar with Blackadder. And… the third season, if I am correct? Whatever season it is, it’s my absolute favorite because I LOVE Hugh Laurie. He plays roles that contrast so starkly with his character on House. You guys should totally do a feminist analysis of Blackadder. πŸ˜€

  2. Crowfoot says:

    YAY another BlackAdder fan!! I **love** BlackAdder πŸ˜€

    Yup, third season. Hugh Laurie had a role in the last episode of the second season too – tho I imagine you recognized him. I love the wordplay and the sarcasm and the hugely elaborate insults πŸ˜€ My brother bought the complete DVD set and I’ve been asking for it for Xmas, birthdays etc but it’s about $100 so so far no go. I may have to shell out myself heh. And yeah, Hugh Laurie is brilliant! Have you seen him in Jeeves and Wooster?

    My first thought is that BlackAdder wasn’t too terribly sexist – tho a part of that might have been the brilliant female comedians they had, especially Miranda Richardson. Everybody (apart from Edmund) was ridiculous and farcical. I may be too biased to critique it properly tho!

  3. eloriane says:

    I’ve never seen Blackadder! I want to! Except that right now I am in Illinois, in the bedroom of one of my fraternity Brothers, and will not be home for quite some time.

    I mention this because I can’t really put it on our Official Blog of the trip, but this particular Brother appears to have a fondness for puppies. He has a dozen or so adorable puppy postcards tacked on his wall above his workspace. The rest of the room is typical frat decor, complete with shiny disco bottle, but the puppies are sweet.

    As for Blackadder: netflix queue ahoy!

  4. Crowfoot says:

    I think you’ll like it πŸ™‚ the writing is really good and it’s pretty smart. It’s a very “British” English comedy in that there’s this love of words and twisting things around, very dry, but also a love of the very silly. Hugh Laurie excels at the silly!

    that’s pretty awesome, actually – all those puppy pictures πŸ˜€ I have a great fondness for people with a great fondness for cute animals.

  5. dollyann says:

    You mean, you’ve seen Blackadder AND Jeeves and Wooster? I think I’ve died and just gone to heaven… people who know what shows I’ve seen! So, hell yeahs I’ve seen Jeeves and Wooster. Though, I will admit to liking Blackadder more.

  6. Crowfoot says:

    yay! πŸ˜€ Jeeves and Wooster is awesome, yes. I do like how Stephen Fry can say “yes, sir” about 87 different ways. I’m with you though, BlackAdder is better.

    Ok speaking of britcoms.. what about Red Dwarf?

Leave a Reply

