More BlackAdder-y Goodness

In the comment thread for my Calling It Out post I mentioned trying to keep one’s cool in the face of bigotry. This reminded me of a scene from BlackAdder! (yes, my brain makes odd connections like that). I remembered the Prince Regent talking about snappy come-backs here: (it’s towards the beginning)

Enjoy! ๐Ÿ˜€

6 Responses to More BlackAdder-y Goodness

  1. dollyann says:

    Contrafibularities! I love this episode!

    One of the greatest parts is that Dr. Samuel Johnson is played by the same actor who does Hagrid in the Harry Potter series. Though, I can only stomach the first movie of the Harry Potter series…

    Yays for posting BlackAdder!

  2. Crowfoot says:

    You only liked the first HP film eh? I thought they got better as they went on, with the 3rd and um.. 5th? the last one – standing out in particular. Maybe because they got less cute (tho the cute was nice ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Did you like the books at all? 1/2 way through the first book and I thought to myself “yup, self, you’re gonna read all of ’em right away aren’t you?” and I did. heh.

    Anyways! I always loved this episode too ๐Ÿ˜€ I especially liked the Romantic Junkie Poets (BlackAdder: “Mrs Miggins, there’s nothing intellectual about running around Italy in a big shirt trying to get laid.” Haha)

    Oh! Dr Johnston is played by Robbie Coltrane. He has another part in the BlackAdder Christmas Carol. Have you seen that? That was awesome. He plays Father Christmas who just pops in to visit BA for a little breather as Edmund is so good and kind, and ends up showing him what rotten bastards his ancestors were. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. dollyann says:

    Oh yeah, I love the books. Well, the first 6 anyway. The 7th was a bit of a disappointment for me, mostly because the epilogue was way too fangirlish for my tastes. The movies leave so much out though and I hate Hermione’s depiction. I don’t know… the movies get too commercialized for me. They steal the magic away. I mostly like the first one because of Richard Harris (?)’s portrayal of Dumbledore.

    Oh yeah! I’ve seen the Christmas special before. I don’t really remember it all that well though…

  4. Crowfoot says:

    Oh I completely agree about the epilogue in the last book. Bleh. Tho for me I did like the rest of it – I read it all in one weekend! And I got misty-eyed you-know-when, which I wasn’t expecting. And that is true about what the movies leave out.. I see your point. I’d like to watch the first one again because I’ve heard other people say they prefer Harris to Michael Gambon, whereas I preferred Gambon. My mom liked the first film best as well, for the same reasons you mentioned.

    Back to BlackAdder – the Xmas special was fun. Edmund is so good and kind (and is often taken advantage of) until he sees what fun his dastardly ancestors had, then he becomes bad. I love Robbie Coltrane, tho, just in general.

  5. dollyann says:

    Misty-eyed? Lol… I’m a bawler. Somebody dies, I start weeping. I liked Richard Harris because he was more softspoken to me than Gambon. I’ve heard other people liked Gambon better because he seemed more eccentric. How bout u?

  6. Crowfoot says:

    Totally in the liking Gambon because he was more eccentric and seemed more.. mentally sharp? He rather looked like he could out-think you. But he also looked more morally ambiguous, if you know what I mean. It’s been a while since I’ve seen the first film so maybe when I watch it again I’ll change my mind, but in light of what happened later on in the books Gambon’s kind of… “not 100% shining goodness but I can’t quite put my finger on it” energy worked for me.

    But then, maybe too it was just that Gambon’s clothes looked more like something a real person would wear, whereas the wardrobe department picked something so cliche for Harris. Lol of course, now that I think of it – it was likely more true to the book!

    interesting… hmmm… I’ll definitely have to watch it again! I’m normally quite the fan of Richard Harris ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

