Hi, Pixar! Hi!

Hey! Great to see you again, Pixar! SO GLAD TO SEE THAT YOU’RE STILL NOT MAKING MOVIES WITH ANY GIRLS IN THEM.

Seriously, Pixar. What the hell? You’re clearly CAPABLE of coming up with cool women– you’ve got Jesse and Elastigirl, and even Dory was pretty cool, and Colette could’ve been the best ever if you hadn’t had her randomly fall for Linguine…but why are all these great women ALWAYS on the sidelines? I’ve linked it before, and I’ll link it again: you have a serious gender problem.

Do better, Pixar. Until you do, you can’t ever be truly great. Not just because you cannot tell the story of human nature if you exclude half of humanity, but because this sort of rubbish is just bad entertainment.

8 Responses to Hi, Pixar! Hi!

  1. dollyann says:

    Ever since The Incredibles, Pixar has been going down hill IMO (or I could still be bitter that Ratatouille won over Persepolis at the Oscars). But seriously, I completely agree with you on this. Pixar needs to dig its head out of whatever sand pit it’s been in for the past decade because their films are starting to become mundane, cliche, and obviously commercialized. A female-lead character and a new storyline might spice up the lineup a little. Glad to see you posting again, eloriane! šŸ™‚

  2. Crowfoot says:

    *groooannn * nooooo

    I love Pixar movies šŸ˜¦ I don’t wanna see the sexism *sticks fingers in ears* lalala I can’t hear you!

    Dammit! Can’t not see it now. Nuts. I agree about Colette; I had hopes, then, bah. I mean, I do like the movies – I guess I’ve been able to ignore the lack of female characters? Or maybe I’ve just come to the point where if it’s not really vile sexism I just think to myself “more of the standard media but at least they’re not spitting on me!” *sigh*

    And having seen Persepolis I’m shocked it didn’t win over Ratatouille. Persepolis was amazing.

  3. eloriane says:

    Oh man, YES. Persepolis. YES.

    I wanted to review it, but I saw it RIGHT before I went to India and just didn’t have the time or the energy. But oh man, it was amazing.

    Pixar does good stuff. I DO love their movies. I’d even love to work for Pixar, except that they haven’t done anything to suggest to me that it wouldn’t be a hostile workplace.

  4. […] * Gender Goggles thinks Pixar should animate more females. […]

  5. dollyann says:

    Hey, you know what else… Up really kind of looks like a rip-off of Miyazaki’s film Castle in the Sky. I mean, I get the sense that the story’s a little different and the idea of aerial civilizations isn’t unique to Miyazaki, but I know for a fact that John Lasseter (head of Pixar) is a fan of Miyazaki’s and, for lack of good ideas, might rip off him a little bit.

    I’ll be honest… Up looks better to me than Cars or Wall-E, but I’m still not thrilled.

  6. Crowfoot says:

    I’ve only seen two Miyazaki films (Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke) so I can’t comment on any similarity. But I wish Lasseter would rip off Miyazaki’s good female characters šŸ˜¦

    I’ve just watched the trailer and I have a great fear that there’s going to be fat jokes all over that movie as well šŸ˜¦ Oh I hope not. *sigh*

  7. eloriane says:

    Actually, that’s a good point– what kind of Miyazaki fan is influenced by his work but forgets the strong female characters? Can you even call yourself a Miyazaki fan if you’ve missed out on that part of it?

    I’d always resisted the idea that Pixar was influenced by Miyazaki, because I just couldn’t make myself see the similarity. Without the female characters, it’s just not the same at all.

    Haha– imagine Kiki’s Delivery Service without any interesting female characters! It would just be Tombo and the baker’s husband, hanging out.

    But then, Pixar does love to do buddy films…

  8. fourthwave says:

    Thanks so much for linking to us at The Hathor Legacy. I’m with you about Pixar; it’s a real shame they don’t consider female characters a priority. I’m getting so tired of ever-present male protagonists in every medium…

Leave a Reply

