Women’s Poetry/Spoken Word: Staceyann Chin

In light of the downer thought-provoking post of yesterday, I decided to post something more uplifting, more inspiring. Some of you may recall eloriane introducing (some of) us to Marty McConnell. Such fiercely feminist poetry as McConnell’s is quite rare in the mainstream. This brilliant feminist artist reminded me of another brilliant woman, Stacyann Chin. I’ve seen her live at the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival a couple of years running and she is fantastic. Very intense, very political, she once said as a part of her piece “I want to look out and see thousands of fists raised in defiance!” and immediately nearly the entire crowd of some 5000 women leapt to their feet with their fists raised. She is funny, inspiring, moving, smart, and a dyke 🙂

Here’s a taste:

Rise up! 😀

8 Responses to Women’s Poetry/Spoken Word: Staceyann Chin

  1. Becca says:

    She came to my college and i had the pleasure of meeting her. Incredible performer— absolutely loved her set. makes you get all rillled up =D

  2. Dolly says:

    I feel like I’ve seen her somewhere before. She’s TOTALLY awesome! I loved the part where she was like, “All oppressions are connected, you dick!” I was like, yes yes yes! Thank-you! She is so frigg’n amazing. I’ve totally got to YouTube her now.

  3. Dolly says:

    lol… so I saw her HERE before. You guys did another post on her… I thought she was familiar!

  4. eloriane says:

    I’ve been putting off commenting because, WOW, she is intense. It’s amazing. I don’t even know what to say.

    That’s one of the big things I struggle with, actually; I see something like this and it just wakes up all the rage I have at the injustices of the world, and I don’t know what to DO with it. Blog about Dr. Who? It seems like so little.

    But it’s something, which is not nothing, and soon I’ll have money again so I can do more. But man, right about now I want to march on Capitol Hill or something!

  5. […] audience, but dammit, I wanted to see more of Prudence. And Sadie and Jojo. And whoever it was that Staceyann Chin was playing! She showed up in, like, two scenes as “Hippie Gutairist,” and she was […]

  6. […] characters are or can be pretty, but in a way that I really enjoy, rather than in the stereotypical I’m-a-dyke-but-I-kind-of-look-like-a-straight-girl way which happens in, for example, the L Word. Instead, they all have distinct “looks” […]

  7. […] even more importantly, even though all oppression is connected, all oppression is not the same. The analogies break down when you get into the details. Using […]

Leave a Reply

