Introduce Yourself

Hey Lurkers πŸ™‚

While Gender Goggles is a fairly quiet little blog, eloriane and I would very much like to see more people commenting. I can understand how hard it is, sometimes, to add to a discussion, or find something useful or insightful to say. I’m a big lurker myself! I’m usually lurking at the blogs I read daily, in fact. And it’s certainly not that I don’t want people to know I’m there, or what I think. More often than not it has to do with what I’ve just said: I’m generally disinclined to just pop in to say “yeah!” and that’s it. Sometimes, as writing usually takes me so long, I just don’t really have the time for a well-thought out response. And on larger blogs that generate dozens to hundreds of comments per post those little “me too” comments can slow discussions down. But on smaller blogs like this one, sometimes those “me too” comments are welcome because at least we know someone is reading! Of course, eloriane and I can tell from the blog stats that we do have people popping in to read all the time, however they largely remain faceless.

So I thought that this might be an easy-going way for our regulars (we have some, I’m sure, heh) and for those just surfing by to stop in and just say hello. Feel free to introduce yourself, or just say hi, whichever you prefer! And yes, I realize that lurkers may also be shy and that to some degree I’ve just asked shy people to speak up! But please try – go on, take the plunge. You may realize you like it! (hey Tycho! say something! I shall give you double-extra points for pants, today only :-p )

So say hello and introduce yourself! I promise we won’t bite πŸ™‚

21 Responses to Introduce Yourself

  1. I lurk at pretty much every blog I read – and like you said, it isn’t so much lack of opinion as it is “OMG I hate reading the ‘me too’ bits and I don’t really feel like they add anything to the conversation.”

    I made my way over from Shakesville a week or so ago via a link to the Dr. Who “Midnight” post. I’m one of those “Come for feminist sci-fi analysis, stay for rants on OMGshoez” types.

    And I’m working on being more vocal – I’m still processing the ideas in “Blast You, RTD” so a comment may be forthcoming. But again, like you mentioned in the post, lurking is added to by taking far longer than the average person to write a comment.

    The internet is far less threatening in terms of my shyness than, say, actually talking to people *shudder*, but places with such size and quickdraw troll-bashing* like Shakesville definitely make me question if what I have to say is valuable, or if my sanity may be better off not saying anything.
    *to clarify my concept of quickdraw troll-bashing: Commenters at Shakes and a few other places I read are pretty fast to criticise other people’s comments in a manner that makes people that are thin-skinned like me bruise, and even when I feel the need to ask something I need clarification on, I worry I’ll come off as trollish because I’m relatively new to the way places like Shakes see oppression.

    Oh, my. I seem to have written more than I expected to.

    • Crowfoot says:

      Oh, my. I seem to have written more than I expected to.

      yay! πŸ˜€ heeh

      Hi niemaodpowiedzi! Glad you said something. I am, in fact, really happy someone has said something! lol

      I can really relate to everything you’ve said there. And yeah it’s funny, isn’t it, how we can still end up writing long comments sometimes even when writing is hard – and it’s even funnier when you co-blog! (I’m trying to work through my persistent writer’s block). I grew up painfully shy but seem to have been able to largely get away from it, tho I’m still inclined to think of myself as shy. Which usually makes the people around me now look at me funny as I can also be rather loud and chatty (hence the big-mouthed crow icon heh).

      I think I understand what you mean about quickdraw troll-bashing (good term for it!). It can be intimidating, especially if one is unsure of the correct terminology, or how to phrase things that don’t end up sounding assy heh. Both eloriane and I are not too interested in being troll-bashy (unless someone’s being particularly obviously a jerk – but that hasn’t happened yet). Plus, we really want to be able to communicate our ideas. Discussing things in more detail (respectfully) can be really rewarding.

      Anyways, welcome! πŸ™‚ and thanks for popping in to say something!

  2. Tycho says:

    Double points for pants! I’m an accomplished lurker, thank you. I don’t come by that often, but I try to provide a bouncy sounding board for the Crowfoot. Otherwise, there’s some saying about a suspected fool keeping their mouth shut instead of opening it and removing any doubt.

    • Crowfoot says:

      YAY πŸ˜€

      here’s yer points!! *tosses points in Tycho’s lap*

      and yer funny. so extra points! Although, yanno, your comments re the Calling It Out post could have been interesting! We could have started a long conversation about intention vs reception in art! Maybe I could use even more exclamation points!! :-p

  3. Samantha says:

    *waves* I pretty go on here everyday to see if there is a new post. I have really enjoyed the posts and was going to write a long comment earlier on the previous post before this one, but I got caught up with something (as I always do).

    Anyways, just thought I would say hi and say I enjoy the posts, and maybe one day when I have the time, I will post a long response πŸ™‚

    • Crowfoot says:

      Hi Samantha, nice to meet you! and thanks πŸ™‚

      I hope you can find the time to post that comment anyways – there’s a lot of interesting stuff to analyze re clothes/presentation/gender etc so please feel free to come back to it later when you have more time πŸ™‚

  4. Samantha says:

    I pretty much go on here* (stupid typo)

  5. eloriane says:

    Hi, everyone!

    These days it’s feeling a little like I read my blog more often than I write for it, but I’ve just been travelling SO MUCH! (For those interested, I’m in Spain right now, about to fly from Barcelona to Seville– the airport has free wi fi!)

    I really wanted to add to the discussion of quick-draw troll-bashing– that’s something I really love about Shakesville, that it’s unapologetically a place for the sort of feminism 400 talks that are hard to have anywhere else, but it’s also something that I try very hard not to do here. My goal is for this place to be a sort of feminism 200– maybe you’re familiar with some feminist ideas, so the Finally, A Feminism 101 Blog isn’t for you, but there’s no assumption that anyone here completely gets anything. So even though the critiques are written with a number of feminist assumptions, I actually kind of want people in the comments to ask for explanations of those assumptions (like when freemenalex and I talked about lizard women and the She-Hulk).

    Which is to say, there are no bad questions here! I understand completely the fears that motivate lurking (I almost always lurk at Shakesville) but around here, we’re willing to do a lot of hand-holding, and we’re still learning too. So don’t worry!

  6. Cloudthorn says:

    Hi Gender-gogglians,

    I’m a frequent lurker around here and will try to start leaving more ‘me,too’ comments.
    My lack of commenting so far is more to do with wanting to say something desperately insightful and clever than with shyness.

    Although I guess it can be a form of shyness to keep silent because you’re not really sure whether you have anything worth saying.

    Anyway, thanks for writing this blog. You inspire in me about equal parts laughter and ‘omigod, that is so true!’

    Cloud

  7. Eng says:

    So, um.

    Hi! I’m Eng. I’ve been reading this blog with interest for a while, enjoying the lighter stuff but also looking at the heavier feminist material with some interest.

    Also: Spain? That’s pretty awesome.

  8. Crowfoot says:

    Hi Cloud and Eng πŸ™‚ thanks for popping in!

    And eloriane! *waves* I think it’s safe to say we all miss eloriane 😦 but I think we are also glad that she’s having traveling adventures! Also, I echo what she said about Shakesville.

    wanting to say something desperately insightful and clever
    heh heh me too! None of us here are too cool for school and we don’t look down our noses at attempts to put things into words (heck I think the whole process of trying to get a particular vagueness into words is rather exciting- especially when a group of people are doing it together). I know that I often struggle with writing – hell I think I’ve spent 15 min just on this comment because I’m having a hard time focusing. It’s part of what’s stressful, yet rewarding about blogging; it forces me to try. It does get easier with practice though.

    Oh, and I took the liberty of peeking at your site, niemaodpowiedzi (I assumed that was ok since you included the link). Your piece Dark lights, big city is wonderful! You have many lovely pieces πŸ™‚

  9. I love that about Shakesville too, and I can’t imagine them doing it any other way. I don’t know how they could maintain the safe-space atmosphere for most people without dispensing out the trollhammer with a more liberal (heh) hand, especially because of the amount of negative attention Shakesville receives due to the fact that it is a large congregation of unapologetic, vocal feminists. I don’t think there’s a way to prevent legitimate comments from being troll-bashed without sacrificing something more important to the mission of the community as a whole (because if you sit around worrying about protecting the innocent ignorants, some ill-intentioned ignorants are going to get in as well when you factor in the sheer size of Shakes readership. I don’t think that’s as much of a concern here – like Crowfoot said, intentionally assy people haven’t shown up here yet). And, being somewhat of a communist, I’m okay with that sacrifice. It just means I need to find a different sandbox for some things.

    I guess it can be a form of shyness to keep silent because you’re not really sure whether you have anything worth saying.

    I’m don’t think the shyness contributes to my evaluation of my conversational worth in an incredibly significant way. For me, the worth of what I say is judged more by the incredibly insecure bits of my brain: the parts that say “eeek! people are going to think I’m a shitty person because I don’t believe x!” rather than “eeek! people can hear me!” parts.

  10. :::waving::: Present! πŸ™‚

  11. fremenalex says:

    Been in Mexico for the holidays, and just got back and wanted to put in my two cents. Kudos on this post, I don’t think I saw the word “Doctor” anywhere in here!!! (you know I kid, still good work ladies!)

    I actually love to leave comments on other blogs, not just for the conversation and other points of view but to see if the authors are paying attention. It’s always neat to geek out with other geeks too, no matter if they’re male, female, and everything in between. Now that you’ve fished some of these lurkers out from their hiding places we’ll have more discussions and arguments before everyone ultimately agrees with me.

    • Crowfoot says:

      heeh πŸ˜€

      I don’t think I saw the word β€œDoctor” anywhere in here!!!

      I know! I’m so proud *blush*

      (but then that didn’t last long eh?)

  12. Becca says:

    doh. i miss a couple of days evey now and then.

    but i like reading your reviews on tv shows/ female comedians and things.

    its a good time.

  13. […] Male Feminist Ally Blogaround! Looking over the “Introduce Yourself” thread (where you should still introduce yourselves, o lurkers!) it seemed to me that we had […]

  14. Rikibeth says:

    Hi there! Just found you today through TigerBeatdown’s blogroll, and I like it — I’ll probably stick around!

  15. eloriane says:

    Hey! Glad to meet you! TigerBeatdown is awesome, eh?

    I’m looking forward to seeing more of you!

Leave a Reply

