The anything-but-Doctor-Who blogaround!

You all probably know by now that here at the Goggles we are in love with Doctor Who, and I have no fewer than three Doctor Who posts in progress right now, but I thought you all might like a break. So, here! A blogaround that has nothing to do with the Doctor, or any other TV show!

We’ve been talking about doing some Feminism 101 stuff around here, so I used that as my jumping-off point.

First, the Google brought me to Feminism Quotes. Mostly familar to me, but sufficiently awesome that I like to see them again.

From “Finally, A Feminism 101 Blog!” we have “You feminists just want to tell women to do what you want, instead of letting them CHOOSE (and we all know girls *choose* the girly stuff),” with a great comments thread that sort of ties in with my earlier post, in that it’s about the fact that no choices are made in a vaccum.

The Geek Feminism Wiki looks fascinating and I´m definitely going to be checking it out more. They have a Feminism 101 page explaining the fundamental principles of feminism, and pages on all sorts of other topics, such as women-friendly events (and how to host them). It looks like it´s still pretty new, so us geeky feminists should help them out!

It also led me to the Open Source Women Back Each Other Up Project & Gentleman´s Auxilary, which you should check out right now (especially the post explaining how it was created).

It´s good to know women at *either* end of the spectrum can expect shaming, an older post from No Cookies For Me, which I´m still hoping will start updating again. I don´t know what kind of internet drama might be going on about this issue, but I thought his post was really well-done and highlighted a point I haven´t seen made before.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy — Topics in Feminism: I haven´t read this because it would take a million years and I´ve only got an hour or so, but it could be an interesting way to spend the afternoon! I´m wondering how much of it is rubbish and how much of it might be interesting– everything I read looked really interesting, but I couldn´t exactly make a complete survey.

I thought it would be good to look at a history of feminism, too, since I can be pretty ignorant of what´s come before. Wikipedia´s History of Feminism page is, perhaps surprisingly, extremely long and complete-looking.

You Just Flunked Out Of Feminism 101. Wait, Stupid Also Just Failed Out Of Moron: this is just something I found during my gooling, and it sufficiently boggled my mind to be worthy of comment. (Speaking of comments, they start out OK but then degenerate, so proceed with caution.)

Finally, if your new year has been just a little too pleasant so far, why not check out Ladies Against Feminism? It´s “a forum for for intelligent, thoughtful discussion”!

6 Responses to The anything-but-Doctor-Who blogaround!

  1. tigtog says:

    Thanks for linking to the Feminism 101 post, because it meant that I’ve discovered you! At my other blog, Hoyden About Town, we are also fond of all things Doctor – check out our Whoydensday series.

    • Crowfoot says:

      I just discovered Whoydensday a few days ago! 😀

      and I’ll offer an “your welcome!” as eloriane’s internet access is intermittent as she’s traveling all over, lucky thing.

  2. Samantha says:

    Thanks for these lists of websites, it should be interesting to go through on a rainy afternoon or two.

    The Ladies against Feminism website is, well, ridiculous, and it cracks me up in a way because of the women’s arguments of why they aren’t a feminist.

  3. Roy says:

    Thanks for the kind words about the post and the blog.

    I’m hoping to get back into at least a semi-regular posting schedule again, very soon, too.

  4. eloriane says:

    Roy,

    I’m really glad to hear that! I’m looking forward to seeing what else you write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

