Women’s Comedy: Elvira Kurt Edition

Sunday is a good time for the light-hearted, and following the developing tradition of comedy Sundays at the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival, I thought I would introduce you all to my favourite stand-up comedian, Elvira Kurt. As with my other posts introducing female artists, there’s a good chance that some or many of you have already heard of her – like my fellow Canadians for example! But as the mainstream media is saturated with men’s stories, men’s art and men’s viewpoints, I believe it’s important to keep highlighting as many brilliant women as we can. Think of it as a fun kind of activism ๐Ÿ™‚

Every summer I attend Michfest to relax, to be on wimmin-only land healing from growing up female in a patriarchy, to be surrounded by several thousand lesbians (!), and to discover and celebrate female artists. Elvira Kurt has been there every year I’ve attended as well, making us all laugh and laugh and laugh. If she comes to your town you should go see her! She’s awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a taste:

3 Responses to Women’s Comedy: Elvira Kurt Edition

  1. Dolly says:

    LMAO! She was *hilarious*!!!

    Best bit: “Hey ladies! Don’t you hate it when your men have a penis!?”

    I was so rofl.

  2. fremenalex says:

    When I saw the title of the post, I screamed quietly like a little girl! “I love Elvira, whatever happened to her? I didn’t know she had a last name.” Then I scrolled down and was a little embarrassed…

    It was hella funny!!!!! Still feel a little embarrassed for confusing her with another person, but meh, social faux come every day the almost define my personality. Now there’s 2 Elviras I like. =]

    • Crowfoot says:

      hey fremenalex, I love them both toooo! ๐Ÿ˜€

      isn’t she awesome? and I thought that that clip isn’t even one of her funniest! I lovelovelove her.
      Yeah: “don’t you hate it when your men have a penis?” LOL

Leave a Reply

