Battlestar Galactica: It’s over now, right?

So, how was the ending? Should I watch this show?

I watched seasons 1 and 2 a long while ago, on DVD, with my family, but it’s in the marathon viewings that a shows’ strengths and weaknesses are laid bare. Especially the weaknesses, my goodness. If there’s a week between each episode during which you can talk to other fans and sort of make up explanations for stuff, it has to help the show make more sense, and if the show repeats storylines or doesn’t pay attention to its plot holes, that buffer time between each episode masks the effect. Watching the episodes all in a row makes it really obvious if they don’t quite hang together right.

If the show is good, though, marathon viewings only make it better, because it makes it easier to see all the interweaving plotlines and so on that make it so amazing. This is why I love Dr. Who, Babylon 5, and even Xena– they only get better when you watch them all in a row.

I started watching Battlestar Galactica a while ago, but it didn’t stand up to my marathon consumption as well as it could have, and I lost interest somewhere in the second season. “The three plots it started with were really cool,” I said to myself at the time, “but now there are thirty plots and I just don’t believe that they even can resolve them all satisfactorily, let alone that they will. If it turns out the writers weren’t just making shit up to keep people watching, I’ll try the show again.”

And so, viewers of the long-awaited finale: were they just making shit up? Or was there a story being woven here, one whose end could be predicted from its beginning, one that will reward a faithful viewer with a spectacular resolution?

In other words, should I watch this thing, or not?

Please, no spoilers in the comments– I just want a general opinion of the watchability! After all, if the answer is “yes, it all makes sense,” I’m going to want to watch it all. 🙂

2 Responses to Battlestar Galactica: It’s over now, right?

  1. I think the ending was similar to the ending of Harry Potter (assuming you’ve read that… let’s hope). Things really came together and the themes from the previous seasons came back and suddenly made sense. Little things I hadn’t paid all that much attention to b/c I stayed removed from the fan-dom came back and I was like ooooh that’s nice!

    But, just like HP, it didn’t answer everything. There are some big glaring questions left over, but also smaller questions that you wish had been wrapped up neatly with a bow.

    Overall, I liked it. It was a nice way to end the series. It wasn’t the BEST EPISODE EVAH ZOMG!!!1!1!!!, but it was definitely up there.

    I recommend the series. Two thumbs up!

  2. eloriane says:

    Haha, I totally get what you mean about the end to Harry Potter! Man, I loved those books. I’m not sure BSG is really of the same quality– I was one of those intense fans who scoured the books for hints, and they were really well-written; they more than provided. But on your recommendation, I think I’ll check it out.

    You know. After Babylon 5, Xena, and all of the old Dr. Who. Eventually.

Leave a Reply

