Quick Hit: Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged

More from That Dude Who Sends Me Cool Email Forwards:

There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year-old’s life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs.

8 Responses to Quick Hit: Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged

  1. That was delicious. It’s always pleasant to find out that others have similar opinions to mine on the subject of Ayn Rand.

  2. dirtyrose says:

    So true! I think the last place I saw that quote was either a link or an anecdote on Daily Kos.

  3. eloriane says:

    The guy who sends me these is really cool. He taught at a summer camp I attended in D.C. He spent, like, twenty years in the marines, and he’s been in various governmental positions since then– and yet, he is a completely admirable person! Sometimes he single-handedly maintains my faith in the American government.

  4. Jezebella says:

    L.O.L. Yr killin me.

  5. Jo says:

    If I’d been subjected to Ayn Rand, I might have gotten that. (Lucked out, did I?)

  6. Yes Jo, you very much lucked out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I had to read Anthem in high school, then her foundation sent me a free copy of The Fountainhead, which I read for the sheer masochism factor.

    A choice quote from Fountainhead regarding proper gender roles: “‘God made the elephant for toil and the mosquito for flitting about, and it’s not advisable, as a rule, to experiment with the laws of nature, however, if you want to try it, my dear child…'” (men=elephants, women=mosquito. Flattering, no?):

  7. dirtyrose says:

    Rand is probably the biggest source of the “pull yourself up by your own bootstraps, or else you are weak and undeserving of quality life!” mindset that I know.

    I might be a masochist but not THAT big a masochist. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

