Ideas Worth Spreading: The Intelligence of Crows

Since we can now easily embed TED Talks on wordpress blogs, I thought I’d start a new weekly feature: Ideas Worth Spreading. I love the TED Talks website and so many of the ideas presented there are utterly fascinating and, well, worth spreading. I’m looking forward to having an excuse to spend more time poking through the site to find talks to feature here, and I hope you all enjoy what I find!

Today: Joshua Klein on the intelligence of crows.

Fascinating, eh? It reminds me of Twisty’s post on operant conditioning with her horses. I don’t have a lot to say about this one, but it’s always been one of my favourites to watch.

Got any recommendations for next week’s Ideas Worth Spreading? Send ’em in! Remember, the name is Ideas Worth Spreading, not TED Talks, so it doesn’t have to be from TED, even though that’s what prompted me to blog these– share anything that you find fascinating or powerful and, well, worth spreading!

3 Responses to Ideas Worth Spreading: The Intelligence of Crows

  1. Eng says:

    This is one of the most excellent things I’ve ever seen. Thanks!

    • Crowfoot says:

      WHOA. Crows have culture?? That is so awesome! Thanks so much for linking this, eloriane. Shockingly, I love me some crows :-p So so smart and so beautiful and loud.

      And he’s so right about teaching crows – while I kind of have mixed feelings about domesticating yet another animal, the idea of crows doing search and rescue is pretty awesome. And I liked the over-all message of learning to work with animals in balance rather than just calling them pests and exterminating them.

  2. Jo says:

    Wow. I’m just now getting around to watching this, and I’m sorry I waited so long. That’s just an amazing thing.

Leave a Reply

