Fuck you, Katy Perry!

So, after seeing Shakesville’s post showcasing a fabulous video set to Lily Allen’s “Fuck You,” I decided I absolutely couldn’t live without owning the song, so I toodled over to iTunes. After I bought the song, the following popped up at the top of my iTunes Store:

fuck-you-katy-perry

Okay, a new feature, wev; it might actually be handy sometimes. I have a surprising fondness for Lady Gaga (on the right there, with the sunglasses), though she’s the polar opposite of Lily Allen in terms of subversiveness (I mean, compare Lily’s song about fame, The Fear, to Lady Gaga’s, Beautiful Dirty Rich. Those links lead to the videos but the titles set up a contrast on their own.) So, a weird choice, but I’m not averse to it… what are the others? I may genuinely like them.

Oh, what’s that?

fuck-you-katy-perry-small

Thanks, Katy Perry! Good to know!

The lyrics of the song, for your enragement, are as follows:

[Verse 1]
I hope you hang yourself with your H&M scarf
While jacking off listening to Mozart
You bitch and moan about LA
Wishing you were in the rain reading Hemingway 
You don’t eat meat
And drive electrical cars
You’re so indie rock it’s almost an art
You need SPF 45 just to stay alive

[CHORUS]
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
No you don’t even like boys
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
No you don’t even like…

[Verse 2]
You’re so sad maybe you should buy a happy meal
You’re so skinny you should really Super Size the deal
Secretly you’re so amused
That nobody understands you
I’m so mean cause I cannot get you outta your head
I’m so angry cause you’d rather MySpace instead
I can’t believe I fell in love with someone that wears more makeup than…

[CHORUS]
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
No you don’t even like boys
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
No you don’t even like…

[BRIDGE]
You walk around like you’re oh so debonair
You pull ‘em down and there’s really nothing there
I wish you would just be real with me

[CHORUS]
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
No you don’t even like boys
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
Oh no no no no no no no
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
No you don’t even like boys
You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys
No you don’t even like
No you don’t even like 
No you don’t even like… PENIS

Indeed. You, dear generic audience member who is therefore male, are gay. You, quote, “don’t even like boys” (or “PENIS”), but you are still gay, because… you enjoy “pretentious” music and/or literature? You are environmentally-friendly? You’re pale? She is seriously saying, in public, that men who “don’t eat meat” are gay?

Oh, but I forgot, she doesn’t mean “gay” like, you know, gay, she just means “gay” like, bad.

You know what, Katy Perry?

Look inside, look inside your tiny mind 
And look a bit harder 
‘Cause we’re so uninspired 
So sick and tired 
Of all the hatred you harbor

So you say it’s not okay to be gay 
Well I think you’re just evil 
You’re just some racist who can’t tie my laces 
Your point of view is medieval

Fuck you, fuck you very very much 
‘Cause we hate what you do 
And we hate your whole crew 
So please don’t stay in touch

5 Responses to Fuck you, Katy Perry!

  1. Crowfoot says:

    OMG that video is AWESOME! 😀

    OMG you’re a giant ASSHOLE KATY PERRY >:-O

  2. UGH! KATY PERRY! UGH! It’s so annoying how catchy her songs are because I really flipping hate them…

    I’d never heard this Lily Allen song but it’s AWESOMENESS!

  3. dirtyrose says:

    Katy Perry is horrible, mindless, and hides bigotry and stereotypes within catchy poppy music. Let’s not forget how “I Kissed A Girl” only plays into the accepted male fantasy of lesbians, while completely diminishing the actual reality of bisexuality. Yeah.

    Granted, I’m not a huge Lily Allen fan either, but I’ll take almost anything over Katy Perry. Yes, Katy, you’re cute and coy and ever so twee. WE KNOW. Unfortunately you’re also a gigantic blob of stereotype.

    • Crowfoot says:

      Let’s not forget how “I Kissed A Girl” only plays into the accepted male fantasy of lesbians, while completely diminishing the actual reality of bisexuality.

      Oh. yeah. 😐 contrast with Jill Sobule’s “I Kissed A Girl!”

  4. Dalal N says:

    Oh god, I cannot stand her. ><

Leave a Reply

