Blog Note/Kavetching

Hello dear readers! If any of you are still around, that is. I would like to apologize for how quiet it’s been around here. We haven’t even left a note or anything.  And this note is rather late as it is. Not that we have a giant following or anything, but it just seems kind of rude to be writing everyday and then suddenly not, and not say anything. I suspect we are all very busy and/or very exhausted. Or in Australia!

Speaking for myself, my ability to write anything (even a comment!) has shriveled up over the last few months. I’ve been suffering from some nasty insomnia which has left me so mentally spent that my meager outpourings have dwindled down to nothing. It isn’t that there isn’t anything to say, but that saying it, writing it, just seems impossible. There just hasn’t been anything left in me to push the words out. I’m exhausted. And yet, I can’t sleep. I’ve got this burning energy deep inside me that I can’t seem to get out into the world to be useful with; it just leaves me unable to sleep.

And I’m so spent all the time that I find it difficult to start doing the things that would change all of the things that I hate about my life, which I’m not going to bore you with.

So. Not blogging. Thinking about running away and joining the circus. Getting the hell out of Dodge. I find I’m watching a lot of Doctor Who. All that running they do, all that exploring. I long for it. I’ve got this voice in my head, whispering intensly: “run.”

Run run run run.

But in which direction?

11 Responses to Blog Note/Kavetching

  1. A. James says:

    I only came across your blog a week ago (not sure where I was linked from), and I was really excited to come across some more whovian feminists.

    I sure hope you’ll consider writing more, but you have to do what is best for you right now.

    • Crowfoot says:

      welcome, A. James 🙂

      I actually have some more Whovianism in the works, but as I was looking for an image to go with the post I came across a much better review of Robot that I was doing! lol. so I think I’m going to do some tweaking and post it later today. I fear that my love for Doctor Who does tend to excuse a multitude of sins – I’ll often happily jump across chasms of plot holes, not caring a whit if all the other elements are working – so I fear my feminism might become very forgiving in my reviews! We shall see. By all means I welcome being called out on my blindness 🙂

      As to what I need – I really need to get off my ass and starting deciding on grad school and planning to do something else with my life!

  2. Lynn says:

    Don’t think of this as a chore you have to do, we’ll still be here when you’re up to it.

    Hope you feel better.

  3. Chally says:

    Take your time, take whatever you need to be strong and happy.
    – A fellow Whovian feminist.

  4. Heavy Armor says:

    Run in whatever direction you need to go. Your inspiration to write once again may be waiting for you on the other side.

    We’ll be waiting for you here when it does.

    • Crowfoot says:

      Thanks, Heavy Armor. Yes I imagine the writing will come back – it always has. I’ve had a nice pep talk from one of my undergrad chums today and I’m feeling a bit more focused and able to start making changes. Still kind of feels like wanting to join the circus, lol. Maybe I’ll write about it when I feel less silly about it.

      And I must admit to feeling a bit silly writing a post about not being able to blog and then within a day of that having a long-ish post about DW. The truth is that I’ve been working on getting myself to write about DW for a while now (thinking that’s easier than feminist theorizing) and I’ve just been writing a bit and sitting on it and writing a bit and sitting on it.. then I thought that I should put up a blog note of some sort. Then suddenly I seemed to be done the Robot post!

      So this blog note became both a note about the previous silence, and a note about the likely upcoming silence. In any event, everybody’s supportive words have been really appreciated.

  5. eloriane says:

    I was in Canada, too, before I was in Australia!

    I don’t have much to say for now (walked for 8 hours today! Sydney’s lovely!) but this: You’ve exactly described the reasons I haven’t been writing, too.

    I’m sorry. I’ll be back… eventually.

    Love,
    eloriane

  6. Chally says:

    I’m glad you’re enjoying my fabulous city, Eloriane.

Leave a Reply

